a new favourite

I think I can add a new movie to my list of favourites…

Scott Pilgrim vs the World

I am well aware that I really do love Michael Cera. And that he only really plays the same roles. But I don’t care. He does it well. This movie is the perfect combination of a brilliant soundtrack (written by Beck, Metric & Broken Social Scene), video game/pop culture references (at one point there is Zelda music playing, from the SNES era and a little Seinfeld music moment), and brilliant video editing. When Scott defeats an enemy, they turn into coins and he gets points. Lots of little bits of type appear on screen, narrating/describing the scene (this movie was based on a series of graphic novels). I haven’t been this excited about the movie since The Boat That Rocked. I want to watch this over and over and over again. I loved every second of this movie.

Take a look at the preview:

or you could just cut to the chase and go see it.

About blairelizabeth

aspiring designer, lover of words, music junkie
This entry was posted in Books, gaming, Me, Movies, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

