Artists Only

Dali

I went and saw the Salvador Dali exhibition yesterday at the NGV with Em and Bec and it absolutely screwed with my mind.

You’ll have to forgive me, I may sound like a bit of a pretentious tosser here but this is art after all*.

The whole exhibition was fascinating. Dali was a genius. There were paintings displayed that he had done when he was 15! It was so interesting to see Dali find his own style. As he grew up, he went through periods of being heavily influenced by certain artists, such as Pablo Picasso.

After what I’m going to call the ‘Soul Survivor incident’, I have started to think about art differently. About the subject of paintings. About the meaning of paintings and how that reflects upon the artist.

Daddy Longlegs of the Evening--Hope! (1940)

What is going on inside his head???

This is a visual representation of  Salvador Dali’s beliefs and understanding of the world. This the essence** of him on a canvas.

What does this mean for me? Whenever I hear people talk about the meaning or message of a painting I always think of a big political statement. But it doesn’t always have to be that way.

I am painting pictures which make me die for joy, I am creating with an absolute naturalness, without the slightest aesthetic concern, I am making things that inspire me with a profound emotion and I am trying to paint them honestly. – Salvador Dali

 Dali was doing what he loved.  This was him expressing himself through painting. No matter how weird/disturbing/brilliant.

 Wow. I never really fully got the connection between art and artist. Creating means putting yourself out there. Your beliefs, your personality, your character. Being completely honest with the world.

Sorry if this is a bit of an odd post. This is just something I’ve been mulling over for a while. It seems like I’m always doing this, but over the last 6 months I have really just been sorting myself out. Finding out who I am as a follower of Jesus, as a 20yr old girl living out of home in Australia, as an artist and as a human being. Another big question is am I ok with what I find? Sorry. Lol.

Any thoughts?

* I miss Marita.
** Oh wow. I told you this would be wanky.

About blairelizabeth

aspiring designer, lover of words, music junkie
This entry was posted in Art, God, Me, painting, soul survivor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Artists Only

  1. Marita says:

    U nearly made me cry (not so good at a busy internet cafe). I miss u too!
    And how amazing was the exhibition!!
    I love seeing you on this journey even if it is a difficult one. Well done on putting so much of that into words… I felt a little of the same seeing that exhibition and the growth you can see in his work. I so miss you! xox

  2. blackingoutthefiction says:

    I agree with Marita, it was so good that you put that into words! I got that feeling at the exhibition too, it makes you feel as though you should just *put it all out there* , create instead of replicate, and not worry about what it looks like on the page…
    xx

  3. Chanara Ton says:

    so are you ‘fine’ with what you have found about yourself?…i pray so cos you’re artistically different and with random thought provoking honesty.
    Bless you dear girl and keep up the magical imagination!

Leave a Reply

