House of Cards

It’s taken a while for me to gather my thoughts on this horrible tragedy in Victoria. I don’t know anyone who died, but I do know people who lost their homes. I grew up in Whittlesea, I have friends in Kinglake and Healesville, my family live in Yarra Glen and my Aunt and Uncle live in St Andrews.

I still can’t believe it. You know, you never think it’s going to happen to you. The fires were a street away from my parents house. The emotions I am attempting to feel are way to big for my tiny little mind. How can you grieve with the thousands effected and still continue functioning normally?

The truth is you can’t. Everything happening in my life seems to be irrelevant compared to the fires.

I ordered my iMac last week and it has taken ages to get here. This morning, as I was waiting at the station, I saw the courier van pull up in front of my house. Finally my iMac had arrived. But Kyla didn’t hear them knock. And so now I have to wait till Monday to get it. I admit I was, and still am, a bit pissy. But as I was sitting on the train, I thought, ‘Oh well. It’s a computer. People have lost family and friends from the fires. People have lost their homes. What is waiting a weekend for a computer compared to rebuilding your entire life?’

The thing is, last week, before the fires even began, this whole ordeal with the iMac would have been something to be upset about, right? What about whinging about your boring job? Or complaining about missing out on Kings of Leon tickets?

I don’t know anymore.

There are always tragedies happening in the world. People are dying of starvation, AIDS. People are homeless. People are being violated. There are people killing people.

So shouldn’t I be upset about that too? Shouldn’t I be finding it hard to function normally all the time? How do you grieve for the entire world and still get upset when your favourite jeans tear? I don’t think it is humanly possible.  I don’t want to numb myself to all this. I don’t want to ignore it.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it is fantastic how Australia, and the world is responding. But what happens when this whole thing is over? Do we go back to buying the latest iPhones and CD’s? It seems so inconsistent. I guess it’s just so easy to ignore something when it’s in a different country.

Sorry. This is a bit of a rant. I hope you get what I’m trying to say.

I think I just got some perspective, that’s all.

About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Me, Prayer, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to House of Cards

  1. melinda says:

    Great thoughts Blair. You have expressed what I and I think a lot of people are thinking. Something like this does seem to get life into proper perspective. Thanks

  2. mudbrick says:

    Hi,
    I traveled similar roads, built mudbrick homes in St Andrews and Kinglake. Now live in Tasmania and my family lost homes in the fires. Check out this good news story from the family who lived in the mudbrick home we built 30 years ago. http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25026906-2702,00.html
    You sure are right, it puts our problems into perspective and glad to know you use mac.
    Signed—— Mudbrick.

  3. blackingoutthefiction says:

    blair blair blair

    thankyou for articulating those thoughts. they were exactly what was in my head as well.
    i feel like if we took the weight of the world on our shoulders all day every day, perhaps it would be so overwhelming we wouldn’t be able to keep living. or perhaps a whole lot of stuff would get done to help fix shit.

  4. Ben says:

    Bit of a return comment. But still:

    I had similar sort of thoughts after I came back from Germany in 2005. It was just after the tsunami hit and everybody was massively supportive, people were giving so much, and it was all very exciting to see the spirit of compassion happening in people. It’s funny how a tragedy brings people together and that they start responding the way that Jesus asks us to all the time. Maybe that’s part of the whole “Blessed are the poor in spirit” thing.

    Anyway. My thoughts were similar after the whole thing went off the media radar. Everybody stopped caring so much, stopped being so excited about helping others – except for my school flaunting how much they’d raised for the relief efforts. It’s part of what inspired me to start Africa Aid, just because there were a million other terrible tragedies that happen all the time that aren’t known much about, just because they aren’t media-hyped, and this is part of the reason why some people find it hard to care about the issues at all. It’s not completely their fault they struggle to care, because people need to be made aware first of what’s happening.

    I’ve tried to take on the burdens of the world as my own, but that’s not healthy. It just burns you out. But the fact that you’re already thinking “What next?”, “What about everybody else that’s suffering?”, means you’re going down the right track. At least you’re acknowledging that there’s a lot of people in need of love, care and prayer. At the end of the day, it becomes about your personal choice to have an impact by making care – for anyone – intentionally part of the way you live. Hopefully this will affect others, and maybe, things might just get a little bit better.

Leave a Reply

