Sit Down. Stand Up.

It’s been a while since I last blogged so I am going to edit out the boring bits of my life and tell you the exciting parts (well, they’re exciting for me anyway).

1. Two words. Franz. Ferdinand. My adoration has grown. I don’t know what happened but as soon as I entered the room, I turned into a teenage girl (We’ll ignore the fact that I actually am a teenage girl for the moment). I was literallyjumping for joy, and continuously grabbing Kyla and Marita and saying…well, squealing, “We’re going to see Franz! WE’RE GOING TO SEE FRANZ!!!!!”. It was a very silly time for me. But, it turned out I had quite a good reason to be ridiculous. They were fantastic live and were more than worth the radiating pain in my feet that I had acquired by the end of the night. I was a little worried that they were going to be arrogant jerks. Happily, I was wrong. They were lovely. Every time I remember it, I sigh a little. It was a happy night.

2. Work. Sorry I said I was going to edit the boring parts out but I thing this deserves a mention. I don’t know how it did it, but work has become A MILLION times more boring than it was originally, despite the fact that we have now added Iced Chocolates/Coffees and Affogato’s (Don’t make me explain it) to our menu. I am tired of weird, supposedly sane people who listen to the Best of Hi-5 in their cars and old men who are obsessed with actually doing a research paper on the amount of coffee drunk in summer. WHO CARES? IT’S JUST COFFEE!!!

3. Books. Since my last blog, I have read:

Tales of the Unexpected, by Roald Dahl. A collection of adult short stories that still have that wonderful gruesome streak that was in many of his children’s books.

Lady Chatterly’s Lover, by D. H. Lawrence. Not what I expected. It was actually quite funny. A tad inappropriate a times but, it is about Lady Chatterly’s Lover.

Searching For God Knows What, by Donald Miller. Brilliant. He is definitely my favourite Christian author.

Breaking Dawn, by Stephanie Meyer. Twilight is wonderful. That is all.

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer, by Patrick Suskind. Fascinating to read. Even though is was about a creepy guy who killed young girls for their scent.

The Beach, by Alex Garland. I really didn’t like the movie of this, but that was pre-YITS. The book was fantastic! I will definitely read this again!

 

4. Hottest 100. I voted. Just in time. And it took me an hour to do. I had 63 songs on my shortlist and I could only pick 10. In the end, I sucked it up and chose: Gamma Ray, Beck. Pumpkin Soup, Kate Nash. My Manic and I, Laura Marling. Lucid Dreams, Franz Ferdinand. Rainbow Kraut, John Steele Singers. Burn Bridges, The Grates. The Age of the Understatement, The Last Shadow Puppets. Every ones At It, Lily Allen. Our House Breathing, Josh Pyke. A-Punk, Vampire Weekend. A good choice I think.

And now,  I only have 5 sleeps till the lovely Big Day Out, the Week of The Mac is next week, and I need to go home and work on my callouses.

I will not say good bye, but as the French have it, Au Revoir!

About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in Books, Food, Life, Me, Music, Whinging, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sit Down. Stand Up.

  1. blackingoutthefiction says:

    i totally cracked up out loud just then !!! I think my housemates may have heard me from downstairs.

    “I am tired of weird, supposedly sane people who listen to the Best of Hi-5 in their cars and old men who are obsessed with actually doing a research paper on the amount of coffee drunk in summer.”

    that is GOLD!!! now go and become a writer, woman! i love reading your blog :D

  2. blackingoutthefiction says:

    wait …. you read like six novels in the space of two weeks! SHEEEEEESH! I think I might crawl into a hole about now…

  3. blair says:

    Just remember that I only make coffee for 2 of the 6hrs I am at work. So I have no problem finding reading time. Oh, what a hard life I lead!

Leave a Reply

