Can’t tell you how proud I am, Writing down things that I don’t understand

In the words of Jesus, “It is finished.”

Today I officially finished my music fast, that means I didn’t listen to my iPod or any CD’s for 3 weeks. I continue to amaze myself.

I certainly didn’t come up with the results I thought I would. I learned a lot. I am currently reading a book on Prayer and I came to notice that because I wasn’t listening to music, I was praying a lot more.

Ok, so I wasn’t really praying all that much to begin with.

Instead of listening to Arctic Monkeys at full volume, I had time to think and talk to God. A lot more time.

I realised how much I appreciate music. I was on the bus this morning listening to The White Stripes and The Cure and The whole time I was just like, “God, I LOVE music. It is AMAZING. Oh, I love it.” etc etc.

I also learnt how much I depend on music. Before the fast, whenever I was angry or frustrated about something, I would immediately switch on ‘Killing in the Name Of’ by Rage Against the Machine. When I was feeling a bit depressed I would listen to ‘Teardrops’ by Massive Attack, or ‘Hero’ by Regina Spektor. And when I was happy, Kate Nash would always get a play. I didn’t depend on God to help me, I depended on music. Which of course is just stupid.

So I’ve come out of this whole experience with something I really didn’t expect and I’m ok with that. I am going to start doing contemplation again. I’ll start with 10 mins and work my way up, because God is DEFINITELY worthy of my time. And it seems a bit silly not to talk to God when I have made a commitment to follow him.

Oh, and the whole ‘I want to know what’s happening with my future thing’? Don’t worry about it. I plan to get a job, save up and move out with Kyla. That’s all I really need to know right now. I’m just going to take it one year at a time. What’s funny is, I already knew this before I started fasting. I think God must think I’m a bit of an idiot sometimes.

edited-success.jpg
Here’s another painting for my stall! I love it dearly.
About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Me, painting, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t tell you how proud I am, Writing down things that I don’t understand

  1. Pingback: all said and done » Blog Archive » Starred Posts Feb-April Continued…

Leave a Reply

