Smile like you mean it…

At the moment (since I can’t read fiction), I am reading Exodus and ‘Prayer: Does it make a difference’by Philip Yancy. These are both extremely good books that I highly recommend. I’m assuming everyone know the story of Moses. It just so happened that I had just finished reading a passage in Exodus when I found that it was mentioned in Philip Yancy’s book.

“I have seen these people,” the LORD said to Moses, “and they are a stiff-necked people. Now leave me alone so that my anger may burn against them and that I may destroy them. Then I will make you into a great nation.”

But Moses sought the favor of the LORD his God. “O LORD,” he said, “why should your anger burn against your people, whom you brought out of Egypt with great power and a mighty hand? Why should the Egyptians say, ‘It was with evil intent that he brought them out, to kill them in the mountains and to wipe them off the face of the earth’? Turn from your fierce anger; relent and do not bring disaster on your people. Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac and Israel, to whom you swore by your own self: ‘I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and I will give your descendants all this land I promised them, and it will be their inheritance forever.’ ” Then the LORD relented and did not bring on his people the disaster he had threatened.

Exodus 32:9-14

What does this mean??? This passage is found straight after Aaron makes the Golden Calf. Moses changes God’s mind? Or did God just want to have that dialogue with Moses to show his mercy. The anger God felt and his desire to destroy the people of Isreal is just so…human. It scares me. When people go against me I get angry. God got angry…and understandbly so! I am so confused!

On a lighter note…I applied for another job today. Sanity are advertising. PLEASE-O-PLEASE-O-PLEASE-O-PLEASE GOD!!!!!!!!!!

 And now for something completly different:

Regina Spektor – Hero

About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in Books, God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smile like you mean it…

  1. emmi123 says:

    you’d be insane to get a job at sanity!!!!
    hehhee

Leave a Reply

