In Between Days

I actually went out and did something this week! Hallelujah! It’s a miracle! I’ll go through day by day…

Wednesday                                                                                                                                                              I got my haircut quite short. This means NO MORE BLACK HAIR! About 2 and a bit years ago I made the mistake of dying my hair black. 1 and a half years ago I decided that I was sick of black hair and wanted to grow it out. It has taken since then to completely get rid of the black. Ugh.

That night I had my first singing lesson of the year and decided that I am going to do ‘Lets do it (lets fall in love)’ by Cole Porter and ‘Night and Day’ by Cole Porter. Two Jazz songs! That makes me very happy.

After that was the best part. I went and saw Kate Nash at the Northcote Social Club and she was truly wonderful. She was as weird as I’d hoped she’d be. She started the gig with the opening credits of ‘The Wizard of Oz’ playing and ended it with her bashing the crap out of her piano. When she sang a fast bit she bobbed up and down in her seat. I love her. She sang every song on her album ‘Made of Bricks’ plus her song ‘Stitching Leggings’ which I quite like.

I went back to Ana and Laura’s and fell into a blissful sleep full of pumpkin soup and mouthwash.

Thursday                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Possibly the weirdest day of my life. Ana started work at 8.30 and I couldn’t be bothered going home because I was meeting up with some people later in the afternoon in the local area anyway. So my plan was to go to the library (yes I am a nerd) and read until it was time for my catch up. I got to the library and realised that it didn’t open until 10am so I decided to go in to the shopping centre that was right next to it and buy a coffee and have a look around until 10. I got to Starbucks and realised that I only had 2.50 in my wallet, so I had to satisfy myself with a cup of the coffee of the day which cost 2.40. I then ventured into the only shop that was open at that time of morning, K-Mart. I headed straight to the book section and saw that they had the new Meg Cabot book “Size Doesn’t Matter” that I DESPERATELY wanted to read. So I did. For an hour I stood in K-Mart reading a book and drinking an EXTREMELY STRONG coffee. I eventually saw that it had reached 10am so I headed of to the library, but before I did that I checked my bank account to see how much I had in there (seeing as I only had 10 cents in my wallet).

I had 17 cents.

So in total I had 27 cents to last me the day. I went to the library and picked a Princess Diaries book to read. As most people know I am looking for a job and the other day I told myself that I was not going to read any fiction until I got one. The reason for this is that I was spending my time reading books rather than actually going out and looking for work.

I figured that I could let myself out of that at the library because, what else was I going to do? I skim read the book I picked out  but realised that I as so not in the mood for it. The coffee was having a strange effect on me. I felt very jittery and weird. So I picked another book. But I got halfway through it and decided that I could not be bothered. I COULD NOT BE BOTHER READING FICTION!! So I headed over to the Non-fiction section and grabbed an ENORMOUS art book and had a nice long look. I didn’t have a pen or some paper so I had to content myself with writing the artists that I liked into my phone. I did find an artist called Raoul Hausmann who did montages. I quite like him.

Dada Conquors 

Tatlin at Home

dada-cino.jpg

 abcd.jpg

Finally it was time to meet up with my friends. They bought me lunch (thanks Kyla) at 4.30pm and then we headed off to the YITS barbie that was happening that night. I had fun. It was good fun to see everyone again. It’s amazing how much news everyone had over only a month! I am going to see some people tomorrow night at Kyla’s 18th and the rest will be at YITS 08 O camp. So I will see them all again soon. Yay.

So there you are. The last 2 days. Nothing much has happened today (apart from waking up at Emily’s and catching the bus home). We’ll see what happens though…

About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in Life, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

