Reading time with Pickle

To quote Jane Austen, some say “I am a great reader and take great pleasure in nothing else.”

But “I deserve no such praise or such centure. I am not a great reader and take pleasue in many things.”

[Yes, that’s from ‘Pride and Prejudice’]

However there is that list of books that I have been meaning to read, I just never get around to reading them. Several of these book I bought at around this time last year and I have yet to pick them up. These books are:

  1. Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy
  2. War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy. Or if you want the Seinfeld version, you could call it War, what is it good for?
  3. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
  4. The Pickwick Papers, Charles Dickens
  5. David Copperfield, Charles Dickens
  6. Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens
  7. 1984, by George Orwell. Yes, I “read” this in yr11, but I was highly prejudiced against it and I want to read it again to give it a fair go.
  8. Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkein
  9. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
  10. Lorna Doone, by Richard Doddridge Blackmore
  11. Portrait of a Lady, by Henry James

The Classics. These may take me a long time to read but, “I am quite determined” – Jane Austen.

If you have any suggestions for my ‘Summer Reading List’. Leave a comment.

About blair

Generally described as "a bit odd", loves books, adores music, thinks movies are wonderful and is rather attatched to art.
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading time with Pickle

  1. Ana says:

    I borrowed ‘tequila mockingbird’ from Bec a long time ago, and still am yet to read it :s

    But 1984 is on my list too!

  2. Bec says:

    I too would like a shot at most of those,
    Anna Karenina
    The Pickwick Papers
    David Copperfield

    I am in love with
    1984
    To Kill a Mockingbird (read it please read it, it’s so worth it!)
    LOTR

    and I’ve failed at an attempt to read Wuthering Heights – a rare occurrence.

    Try also:
    Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
    The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan
    The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough (Australian Classic)
    Cloud Street (Tim Winton – another Australian classic)

  3. Pingback: “I’ve got a little list” - Gilbert and Sullivan « I used to dream of living in a corridor

  4. Pingback: A beautiful blonde pineapple « I used to dream of living in a corridor

Leave a Reply

